TIFR’s Role in Modernizing Telecommunication in India

M.V. Pitke
Friday, 1 Mar 2019, 16:00 to 17:00
AG-66 (Lecture Theatre)
Abstract: A revolution in telecommunication in India began with installation in 1984 of a  fully digital electronic telephone exchange (RAX) with all the modern facilities at Kittur near Belgaum in Karnataka. This was developed by the team of the Centre for Development of Telematics (CDOT) set up for development of a  telephone exchange family for the Indian Telecom network. TIFR, with its experience in developing advanced digital instrumentation and computers played a leading role. RAX was a basic module of the large 10,000 line ‘main’ exchange that became ready for tests in 1989. This was made possible only due to strong all round  support from academic and R&D institutions and the industry. We provided a total solution for low cost manufacture, Installation and maintenance. The result was creation of a large base of entrepreneurs that helped expansion of the industry. Technology was transferred to more than 45 manufacturers who delivered over 50 million lines
About the Speaker: Prof. M.V.Pitke, (MSc, Ph.D)., has contributed to the design and implementation of several telecommunications and computer based systems over the past forty years. At the TIFR, he was responsible for the development of an advanced radio based digital switching system for mobile networks for defence applications in the late seventies.   As founder director of the Centre for Development of Telematics (CDOT), he guided development of technology for central offices that transformed the telecom scene in the country. It inspired and motivated  younger scientists and engineers to take up far more formidable challenges. He also helped in setting up, among others, the Centre for Development of Advanced Computing (CDAC), and the Dr. Babasaheb Ambedkar Technological University (BATU) at Lonere in Konkan area. Prof. Pitke is a Life Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) as well as Fellow of the Indian Academy of Sciences and the Institution of Electronics and Telecommunication Engineers(IETE).